Online Test Banks
Score higher
See Online Test Banks
eLearning
Learning anything is easy
Browse Online Courses
Mobile Apps
Learning on the go
Explore Mobile Apps
Dummies Store
Shop for books and more
Start Shopping

Privacy Settings for Your Facebook Marketing Page

After you set up your Facebook Profile, you have several privacy options to choose among to determine just how much or how little of your Facebook self you want to share. These options become even more important if you decide to activate the Subscribe button, making your Profile more accessible.

First, Facebook has what it calls an inline audience selector, which is a drop-down menu that lets you decide which group of people sees your post.

image0.jpg

With the inline audience selector, you can choose to display your post to five groups:

  • Public: All your Facebook Friends and anyone who has subscribed to your Profile Timeline can see your post.

  • Friends: All your Facebook Friends can see your post.

  • Friends except Acquaintances: All your Facebook Friends whom you manually selected as Close Friends can see your post.

    The group Friends except Acquaintances is pulled from a custom list that you set up manually.

  • Only Me: You can post something that only you will see on Facebook, but this seems a bit silly to do!

  • Custom: You can manually choose the individual Friends who see your post.

You can not only select an audience when you post, but also change your selection at any time. To do this, hover on your posts’ globe icon, and then choose your audience preference from the drop-down menu.

image1.jpg

Here’s how to access your privacy settings:

  1. Log in to your Facebook account.

  2. In the top-right corner of your screen, click the small arrow next to the Home link, and then choose Privacy Settings from the drop-down menu that appears.

    On the Privacy Settings page, you can see all your options for setting your privacy controls on Facebook.

    image2.jpg

Facebook’s privacy settings allow you to control exactly who sees what within your Facebook Profile. The challenge is that the privacy settings are extremely detailed, and Facebook changes or upgrades them often. But don’t worry: When Facebook does make changes, it always notifies users, thereby keeping everyone informed.

Also included on the privacy options dashboard is the option to set your default privacy setting to Public, Friends, or Custom. You can also dive deeper into the settings and customize specific sections of your Profile Timeline, and you should do just that. To help you understand your level of privacy options better, here are the five main privacy areas:

  • How You Connect: This area allows you to control how you connect with people on Facebook. Here, you can set the capabilities for people to send you Friend requests, post on your Timeline, and send you messages.

  • Timeline and Tagging: Tagging is a way that people on Facebook can link to pictures, videos, and posts. What you need to know is that this area allows you to control how people tag you on Facebook. Here, you have the option to control the privacy settings to ensure that you review these tags individually and approve them before they post on your Timeline.

  • Ads, Apps, and Websites: This area allows you to control how your information is shared with ads, apps, games, and websites that are connected to Facebook.

  • Limit the Audience for Past Posts: When Facebook changed to the new Profile Timeline layout, all your older posts became more readily visible. Because of this change, Facebook created this control to allow you to limit the visibility of your past posts.

  • Blocked People and Apps: This area allows you to manage the people and the apps you’ve blocked.

To learn more about your privacy settings on Facebook, go to www.facebook.com/about/privacy.

You can change your privacy settings at any time. Experiment with the settings, and when you feel that you need to tighten or loosen the constraints, it’s easy to log in to Facebook and make these changes.

Although it’s true that you need to have a personal Profile in place before you can create a business Page, there’s no way for others to see the connection between your new Page and your existing Profile — unless you tell them, of course

Only you know the connection, and you can keep it that way for eternity, if you like. People who choose to connect with you on your Page won’t be able to access any information from your personal Facebook Profile.

blog comments powered by Disqus
Advertisement

Inside Dummies.com

Dummies.com Sweepstakes

Win $500. Easy.