Online Test Banks
Score higher
See Online Test Banks
Learning anything is easy
Browse Online Courses
Mobile Apps
Learning on the go
Explore Mobile Apps
Dummies Store
Shop for books and more
Start Shopping

Making Sense of the Common Core Standards Codes

Part of the Common Core Standards For Parents For Dummies Cheat Sheet

Each of the Common Core Standards contains a unique code that makes it easy to reference for organizational purposes. Each code contains four aspects that indicate specific information: subject, grade level, strand, and standard number within each grade.

  • Subject: Each of the codes starts with one of four subject labels that indicate whether it is a math content standard, math practice standard, English language arts standard, or literacy standard. For example, a standard that starts with "CCSS.Math.Content" is a math content standard, while "CCSS.Math.Practice" is a standard for mathematical practice. The English language arts standards and literacy standards begin with "CCSS.ELA-Literacy." Although these two sets of standards start the same way, the coding for the strands enables you to tell them apart.

  • Grade level: Another aspect of the code indicates the grade level (or subject in high school) of each standard. For example, "CCSS.Math.Content.8" indicates a math standard for Grade 8. In the English language arts and literacy standards, the grade level comes after the strand coding.

  • Strand: The strands, such as "Operations and Algebraic Thinking" or "Reading: Literature" are abbreviated to a few letters, such as OA and RL, respectively. For example, "CCSS.Math.Content.5.NBT" indicates a math content standard in Grade 5 for "Number and Operations in Base Ten." The coding "CCSS.ELA-Literacy.RI.8" is found in the English language arts standards for "Reading Informational Text" in Grade 8. The strands depend on what grade your child is in, but a quick look at the standards shows you the ones to look out for.

  • Standard number: The final part of the code for each standard indicates the order of the standards in each grade. For example, "CCSS.ELA-Literacy.RL.6.3" indicates the third English language arts standard for "Reading: Literature" in Grade 6.

  • Add a Comment
  • Print
  • Share
blog comments powered by Disqus

Common Core Standards For Parents For Dummies Cheat Sheet


Inside Sweepstakes

Win $500. Easy.