Ingredients to Question on a Gluten-free Diet
Gluten can be found in some of the ingredients added to processed foods. Make sure you have a complete and accurate list of gluten-containing ingredients. With some ingredients you may to find out more about their source or consult an up to date Gluten-free Food and Drink Directory (such as that produced by Coeliac UK) before deciding whether a product containing it is gluten-free.
Oats and oat bran (may be contaminated during harvesting , storage or processing. May not be tolerated by some coeliacs. Always consult your healthcare team before introducing oats into your diet).
Malt and malt extract (usually made from barley and contains gluten; fine if derived from corn or rice).
Soy sauce (usually contains wheat).
Starch fillers (occasionally the starch filler in medications is derived from wheat).