Ingredients to Avoid on a Vegan Diet
Part of the Vegan Cooking For Dummies Cheat Sheet
Although most people know vegan diets should avoid dairy- and egg-based ingredients, sometimes other nonvegan ingredients aren’t so easy to spot. To keep your diet vegan, check food labels to avoid these lesser-known animal-based ingredients:
Albumen: Made from eggs, milk, and animal blood.
Bone char: Derived from animal bone ash. It’s used to process white sugar.
Carmine or cochineal: Red pigment made from crushed beetles. It’s found in foods, supplements, and makeup.
Casein: A cow’s milk protein.
Methionine: Essential amino acids made from eggs or cow’s milk.
Pepsin: Made from hogs’ stomachs.
Rennet: An enzyme made from calves’ stomachs.
Whey: Made from milk.