How to Save and Recall a Graph on the TI-83 Plus

If you want a recalled graph to be interactive, you need to save it as a Graph Database on the TI-83 Plus. This way the calculator saves the Graph Mode, Window, Format, and Y= editor settings. It does not, however, save the split-screen settings (Horiz and G-T) entered in the last line of the Mode menu.

Here’s how to save, delete, and recall a graph in a Graph Database.

To save a Graph Database, perform the following steps:

  1. Press

    image0.png

    to access the Draw Store menu.

  2. Press [3] to store your graph as a Graph Database.

  3. Enter an integer 0 through 9.

    The calculator can store up to 10 Graph Databases. If, for example, you enter the number 5, your Graph Database is stored in the calculator as GDB5.

    If you save your Graph Database as GDB5 without realizing that you had previously stored another Graph Database as GDB5, the calculator — without warning or asking your permission — erases the old GDB5 and replaces it with the new GDB5. To see a list of the Graph Databases already stored in your calculator, press [2nd][+][2][9].

    If you already have ten Graph Databases stored in your calculator and don’t want to sacrifice any of them, consider saving some of them on your PC.

  4. Press [ENTER].

To delete a Graph Database from your calculator, perform the following steps:

  1. Press [2nd][+] to access the Memory menu.

  2. Press [2] to access the Mem Mgt/Del menu.

  3. Press [9] to access the GBD files stored in the calculator.

  4. If necessary, repeatedly press

    image1.png

    to move the indicator to the GBD you want to delete.

  5. Press [DEL].

    If there is more than one Graph Database stored in your calculator, you are asked whether or not you really want to delete this item. Press [2] if you want it deleted, or press [1] if you have changed your mind about deleting it.

  6. Press [2nd][MODE] to exit this menu and return to the home screen.

To recall a saved Graph Database, perform the following steps:

  1. Press

    image2.png

    to access the Draw Store menu.

  2. Press [4] to recall your Graph Database.

  3. Enter the number of your stored Graph Database.

  4. Press [ENTER].

    When you recall a Graph Database, the Mode, Window, Format, and Y= editor settings in your calculator change to those saved in the Graph Database. If you don’t want to lose the settings you have in the calculator, save them in another Graph Database before recalling your saved Graph Database.

  • Add a Comment
  • Print
  • Share
blog comments powered by Disqus
Advertisement

Inside Dummies.com

Dummies.com Sweepstakes

Win $500. Easy.