Online Test Banks
Score higher
See Online Test Banks
eLearning
Learning anything is easy
Browse Online Courses
Mobile Apps
Learning on the go
Explore Mobile Apps
Dummies Store
Shop for books and more
Start Shopping

How to Purge Information in Sage Timeslips

To remove information other than slips, you use the Purge feature in Sage Timeslips. You also can purge slips, which has the same effect as deleting them. Using the Purge feature, you also have the option to archive slips that you purge, which deletes them from your Timeslips database but saves them to a special type of Timeslips database.

You use the Purge feature to remove accounts receivable transactions and funds transactions as well as closed clients, timekeepers, tasks, and expenses.

Because purging is a permanent action, many people recommend that you back up your database before you start the purging process. Timeslips gives you an opportunity during the process, but just go ahead and make your backup before you start purging so you can focus on the action at hand.

To purge information, choose File→Purge to display the Purge dialog box.

image0.jpg

To select information to purge, place a check mark in the box beside the type of information you want to purge. Then use the selection lists to identify the information you want to remove from the database. When you opt to purge slips, accounts receivable transactions, or funds transactions, Timeslips warns you that purging is permanent.

Click OK to dismiss the message. When you purge names, Timeslips also removes slips and transactions associated with those names.

You can purge transactions based on whether they have appeared on approved bills and how old they are. The Billed and Closed, Older Than option means that

  • Slips have appeared on a bill you’ve approved and you’ve closed those slips. Note that Timeslips uses the slip’s end date to determine its age.

  • Accounts receivable transactions have appeared on a bill and a statement that you’ve approved. Invoice transactions must be fully paid, and all payment transaction applied to that invoice transaction must be purged before Timeslips will purge the invoice transaction. In addition, if you use TAL or TAL Pro, the Billed and Closed, Older Than option means that accounts receivable transactions have appeared on an approved transfer register.

  • Funds transactions have appeared on a bill you’ve approved and, if you use TAL or TAL Pro, on an approved transfer register.

Or you can choose the Use Filters option to specifically select slips, accounts receivable, and funds transactions to purge. Most of clients opt to use a filter to select slips.

They are most comfortable using the Slip Transaction Date filter, to identify the date of the latest slip to purge. They leave the Start Date on the left side of the dialog box set to Earliest and then click an End Date on the right side of the dialog box.

To set the Slip Transaction Date filter in the Purge dialog box, choose the Use Filters option from the drop-down list in the Transactions section and then click the Filters button. In the Purge Slips Selection dialog box that appears, the Slip Transaction Date filter appears in the Most Popular filter group (the one shown by default). Double-click the filter to display the window.

You can use the Purge feature also to consolidate the historical totals that appear in the Client History dialog box or the Timekeeper History dialog box. Consolidating histories merges the details of separate months of historical totals into one total based on the number of months you indicate.

image1.jpg

You can view history from the Names menu. Click either Client History or Timekeeper History.

You can use the Options page, to set additional options for purging. For example, you can opt to print a report of information that Timeslips purges.

image2.jpg

Exercise care when purging transactions that appear on bills that you can still undo. If you purge these transactions, you will no longer be able to undo those bills.

Click OK, and Timeslips prompts you to make a database backup. If you didn’t make that backup, please make it now.

If you opted to print a report of the information that Timeslips purges, Timeslips prints that report before purging your data. Then Timeslips asks you to confirm that you want to purge records. When you click Yes, Timeslips purges the selected data and then displays a dialog box summary showing the number of records of each type that it deleted.

blog comments powered by Disqus
Advertisement

Inside Dummies.com

Dummies.com Sweepstakes

Win $500. Easy.