How to Manage Users with Web Host Manager
Each Web Host Manager account has its own folder tree on the server where its files are kept. As the owner of the server, you have superuser access to the whole server, meaning you can see all of the other account holders’ files. All account files are kept in folders inside a folder called home, which is a subfolder of the root of the drive.
Each account has a folder within the home folder, the name of which corresponds with the account name.
Imagine your server has four different accounts on it: one for Peter, one for Debbie, and one each for Robert and Kim.
The folder structure would be like this: In the root of the drive (the root is symbolized by a /) would be a folder named home and within the home folder there would be four subfolders: peter, debbie, robert, and kim.
Each of those folders then has a number of folders inside it including a folder named public_html.
The public_html folder is very important because it is what is known as the document root for that account (and the primary domain name associated with it). The document root is the top-level folder that users on the Internet can see for that domain. This means that anything above the document root in the folder tree is not accessible by anyone using the Internet.
All of your website files must go inside the document root. White folders that are accessible to the Internet. Any subfolders and files within them would also be accessible to the Internet. Black folders and any files within them can't be viewed through the Internet.
Other control panels use different folders for the document root, but every control panel has one. It may be called public_html, wwwroot, or something different. Your host will be able to tell you which folder is the document root for the domain.
When a user logs in through cPanel or through FTP, the highest folder she can see is the folder in the home folder named with her username. She can't see the home folder or the other usernames within it.
Only the superuser can see all the folders, which means you can safely give other people their own accounts, and they won’t be able to view, delete, copy, or mess with anyone else’s files.