How to Manage Permissions on Your Facebook Business Page
On your Page dashboard, clicking the Manage Permissions link opens an editing page with options that determine how a person can interact with your Page. These options directly affect how first-time and loyal visitors see and network on your Page.
Page Visibility: Selecting this check box hides your Page from the public until it’s ready for viewing.
Country Restrictions: When you leave this field blank, anyone can see the Page whether she is logged into Facebook or not. When you type a country’s name in this field, you can select the country’s name that is autosuggested. Then you have two radio button choices: Only show this page to viewers in these countries or Hide this page from viewers in these countries.
Age Restrictions: The default setting allows anyone older than 13 to see your Page. If you need to restrict viewing to people older than 17, 18, 19, or 21, you can set that level by choosing it from the drop-down menu.
If you’re promoting a business connected with alcohol, the Alcohol-Related age restriction sets the minimum age based on the location of the user. Only users who are 21 or older can view your Page. Facebook makes the point quite clearly that you are ultimately responsible for who sees your Page, however.
Posting Ability: This section has two check boxes: Everyone Can Post to the Page’s Timeline and Everyone Can Add Photos and Videos to the Page’s Timeline. Checking these boxes allows anyone to create a new post directly on the Page’s Timeline. If you prefer people only be able to comment on the Page’s own posts and not as a new post on the Timeline, then uncheck these two boxes.
Sometimes, you want (or don’t want) random visitors to be able to post videos or photos on your Page. You can always remove random spam posts, but you can nip spam in the bud by not allowing outside posts.
Post Visibility: You can collect all the posts that others make on your Timeline by checking this box. Then you can decide whether you want to make these posts visible or hide them from the Page. After reviewing the posts, you can highlight any of them so they show up in the Highlight view.
Tagging Ability: Check this box to allow people to tag photos they take with the name of your Page. Some people use this feature to get the attention of a Page or to spam the Page. To remove a tag, view the photo and click the Options button at the bottom of the photo, and then select Report/Remove tag. Then select the radio button to remove the tag.
Messages: When you check this box, people can message the Page just like they can message a person’s personal Profile.
Moderation Blocklist: You can add comma-separated keywords that Facebook automatically marks as spam if they show up in a post to your Page or in a comment on a post.
Profanity Blocklist: The drop-down list gives you three choices; None, Medium, and Strong. If you think that people might come by your Page and use profanity, choose Medium or Strong.
Delete Page Name: The Delete Page Name option erases this Page. Keep in mind that you can’t undo this action. Deleting a Page deletes everything — photos, posts, and so on. Make sure that you copy everything you want from the Page before you choose this option.
If you delete a Page for which you had already set a vanity URL, that URL won’t be available for at least 14 days after deletion. If it isn’t available after that period, you need to file an infringement form with Facebook and ask to use it again. It may be easier to hide the Page by selecting the Page Visibility box at the top of the Manage Permissions section.