How to Manage Permissions in OneNote 2013

As with permissions for essentially any type of digital file or location, with OneNote 2013, there are also two types: view permissions and edit permissions. The former lets people access and view the file; the latter lets people access, view, and change the file. Both OneNote 2013 and OneNote web App place permissions and sharing options in the same place: in the Share options on the File tab.

How to manage permissions in OneNote 2013

You can change or remove permissions you give people to view or edit files using the Share option on the File tab in OneNote 2013 as follows:

  1. Open a notebook that is housed on SkyDrive.

    If your note is housed elsewhere, your permissions options may differ or not exist at all.

  2. Select the File tab and then click or tap Share.

    The Share Notebook pane appears at right.

  3. Right-click or press and hold on a permission under the Shared With section at the lower right of the pane.

    A context menu appears.

  4. Choose the action desired from the context menu.

    Actions shown will differ depending on what you’re accessing:

    • A user: A context menu for a user shows a Remove User option, a Change Permission to View or Change Permission to Edit option depending on the permission, and contact links for that user.

    • A shared link: Context menus for links show Disable Link and Copy Link options.

    • Social Networks: This item states Everyone Can View or Everyone Can Edit; the context menu has Disable Posted Link and Change Permission to View or Change Permission to Edit options depending on the permission.

How to remove permissions in OneNote web App

OneNote allows you to give people both view and edit permissions; it also provides a third option — Public — that essentially gives anyone on the planet permissions to view (but not edit) the file.

To remove permissions in OneNote web App, follow these steps:

  1. Open the notebook for which you want to manage permissions in OneNote web App.

  2. Select the File tab, click or tap Share, and select the Share with People button.

    A window appears with sharing options. Below these options are the permissions for the notebook.

    image0.jpg
  3. Select the permission you want to remove and choose Remove Permission.

    There are a few other types of permissions with slightly different interfaces and options. For example, if you share a notebook on Facebook and then access the permissions for the notebook, you’ll see a People on Facebook Can View or a People on Facebook Can Edit item that, when accessed, has a check box next to it that you can check or uncheck to add or remove editing permissions.

  • Add a Comment
  • Print
  • Share
blog comments powered by Disqus
Advertisement

Inside Dummies.com