How to Eject Your Flip Video Camera from Your Computer

When you’re ready to unplug your Flip Video camera from your computer, you should take the correct steps to ensure it’s ejected safely. Your computer thinks of your Flip camera as a disk drive, so you need to ensure you don’t damage your Flip’s internal memory or corrupt any video files and other files stored on your Flip.

Before you unplug your Flip from your computer, you must first eject it — sometimes referred to as disconnecting or dismounting your Flip (or most any other plugged-in storage device).

The two most common ways of ejecting your Flip from your computer before you unplug your Flip are the following:

  • If you’re already running FlipShare: Click the Eject Camcorder button in the Navigation pane of the FlipShare main window.

  • If you’re not running FlipShare: Eject your Flip from your computer by using the process outlined in the following steps, based on whether you connect your Flip to a Windows PC or a Mac.

Ejecting your Flip camera from a Mac

To safely eject your Flip from a Mac so you can then unplug your Flip, follow these steps:

  1. Quit any programs you’re running that may be accessing any files on your Flip camera (such as iMovie, iPhoto, or Final Cut Pro).

  2. Drag and drop the FLIPVIDEO icon on the Desktop to the Trash icon on the Dock.

    Alternatively, you can Control-click the FLIPVIDEO icon and choose Eject FLIPVIDEO from the pop-up menu that appears. Your Flip camera icon disappears from the Desktop.

  3. Unplug your Flip camera from your Mac and be on your merry way.

Ejecting your Flip Video camera from Windows

To safely eject your Flip from your Windows PC so you can then unplug your Flip, follow these steps:

  1. Exit any programs you’re running that may be accessing the files on your Flip, such as Windows Live Movie Maker or FlipShare.

  2. Press Win+E to open the Windows Explorer window.

    Your Flip camera appears as an icon in the Windows Explorer window.

  3. Right-click your Flip camera’s icon and then choose Safely Remove (Windows Vista) or Eject (Windows 7) from the contextual menu that appears.

    A notification message dialog box appears to let you know you may now safely unplug your Flip from your PC, so feel free to do just that.

  • Add a Comment
  • Print
  • Share
blog comments powered by Disqus
Advertisement

Inside Dummies.com

Dummies.com Sweepstakes

Win $500. Easy.