How to Edit and Move Dreamweaver Sites

What if you need to save Dreamweaver website content to a different folder or external drive? Or you need to rename a site? Dreamweaver’s site dialog box provides tools to manage those events safely.

You can save site definitions and use them to move a site to another computer.

How to edit Dreamweaver sites

To access Dreamweaver site management tools, choose Site→Manage Sites from the main Dreamweaver menu. The Manage Sites dialog box opens.

image0.jpg

If you have more than one site, the first step in editing the site is to select the site from the list of sites. Note the four tools at the bottom of the list:

  • Delete: At the left is the tool that deletes the selected site.

    Exercise caution before clicking that icon!

  • Edit: The second tool re-opens the Site Definition dialog box, allowing you to change the site name, the local site folder, or the remote site definition.

  • Duplicate: This tool creates a copy of your site definition. It does not duplicate all the files in a Dreamweaver site, only the site definition (including remote server connection information).

  • Export: Use this tool to make and send a copy of your site settings to another computer.

And here’s where you get your money’s worth out of Dreamweaver: If you move a site from one folder to another, Dreamweaver prompts you to make any required changes in your site that might be affected by the change, including updating links, embedded images, and style sheets.

How to export a Dreamweaver site

Exporting does not make a backup copy of the entire site. Instead, it makes a copy of the site settings. This is valuable, for example, when you need to back up or restore a site to a new local computer. The saved (exported) site definition allows you to reconnect with a remote server, download the site if necessary, and reestablish other defined site settings.

Follow these steps to export your site definition to a file from which you can restore your site on a different computer:

  1. Choose Site→Manage Sites from the main Dreamweaver menu.

    The Manage Sites dialog box opens.

    If you have more than one site defined on your computer, click the site you’re exporting from the Manage Sites list.

  2. Click the Export tool.

    The Export tool is the last (fourth) tool at the bottom of the Manage Sites dialog box.

  3. In the Exporting Site dialog box that appears, choose one of two export options:

    • Back Up My Settings: Selecting this option creates a file (with an *.ste filename extension) that can be saved to a flash drive or anywhere else that includes login information to a remote server. This first option is the most valuable and the one you’ll use to create a safe, restorable version of your site.

    • Share Settings with Other Users: Selecting this option shares other site settings but not login and password information. This option has limited value because it doesn’t save information needed to connect to a remote server, but it can be used to share where files are saved on a local computer.

      image1.jpg
  4. Click OK in the Exporting Site dialog box.

    Another (similarly named, but different) Exporting Site dialog box opens.

  5. Browse to a folder where you will save the site export settings.

    This doesn’t have to be a folder within your Dreamweaver site. It can be a flash drive, for example, that you store somewhere safe so that you can use the file to restore your site on a different computer if necessary.

  6. (Optional) Change the export site filename by typing a new name in the Save As field in the second Exporting Site dialog box.

  7. Click Save.

    The *.ste file is saved.

    The Manage Sites dialog box reappears.

  8. Click Close to exit the Manage Sites dialog box.

Export your site, and keep the resulting *.ste file somewhere safe. You can use it to restore the site if necessary or to install it on a new or backup local computer.

blog comments powered by Disqus
Advertisement

Inside Dummies.com

Dummies.com Sweepstakes

Win $500. Easy.