How to Create an Event Listing in Your Squarespace Site
How to Integrate Adobe Typekit Fonts in Your Squarespace Website
How to Sign up for a Squarespace Account

How to Disable and Enable Pages on Squarespace

While you are performing site maintenance, it’s likely that you will want to disable the pages of your website that are under construction. Squarespace allows you to easily disable and re-enable pages.

How to disable a page on Squarespace

If you want to disable a page on your site, you can do so in the Configure dialog box for the page. For example, if you are updating the content of a page, you may want to disable the page so that a site visitor doesn't stumble on the page mid-update. Or you might want to add, remove, or rearrange the page's blocks using the LayoutEngine.

Whatever your reason, follow these steps to disable your page:

  1. Open the Configure dialog box.

  2. Click the Disable button, which appears at the bottom of the dialog box.

    The Disable Page Confirmation dialog box appears.

  3. Click the Confirm button to disable the page.

    Your page is disabled.

A disabled page remains in its location in your navigation, but the page link appears dimmed in Content Manager. In Preview Editor, the page will be hidden from your site’s navigation, and your site visitors will not be able to see it.

To navigate to the page when you are logged in (as the site owner), select the page in the navigation column and then click the View Page button at the top of Content Manager.

Oh, no! What if you want to enable the page you just disabled?

How to enable a page on Squarespace

Enabling a page is the same process as disabling a page. Your reasons for enabling a page are simple — you want people to be able to see it when they visit your site. If your page is disabled, it’s probably because you disabled it. So you may be able to guess how you enable the page, but just in case you forgot, here’s how.

  1. Open the Configure dialog box.

  2. Click the Enable button, which is at the bottom of the Page Settings dialog box.

    The page is enabled and the Configure dialog box closes, making the page available for your site visitors to see.

    Enabling a page is one step shorter than disabling a page because no confirmation window appears. Just make sure you are 100 percent sure you want to enable the page.

blog comments powered by Disqus
How to Publish Pages to Your Facebook Page from Squarespace
Finding Help with Squarespace 6
How to Log into Your Squarespace Website
How to Modify Settings for Folders and Link Page Types on Squarespace
How Connect a Social Account to a Social Block in Squarespace
Advertisement

Inside Dummies.com