Advertisement
Online Test Banks
Score higher
See Online Test Banks
eLearning
Learning anything is easy
Browse Online Courses
Mobile Apps
Learning on the go
Explore Mobile Apps
Dummies Store
Shop for books and more
Start Shopping

How to Delete Your Facebook Account for Good

If you’ve ever tried to locate the Facebook passageway that takes you through the steps to permanently delete your account, you know it’s not easy to find. That’s because the popular social networking Web site doesn't present an obvious “delete my account” button.

Deactivating your Facebook account is not the same thing as deleting it. While deactivating your profile makes it unavailable for searches or public viewing, Facebook still keeps all of your information in the hopes that you’ll reactivate — a process that’s instantaneous when you log back on.

If this seems a bit confusing, don’t despair. There is a fairly simple way to secede from the Facebook nation. Just follow these few steps.

1

Log on to your Facebook account.

While your Facebook page is visible, copy and paste this link into your Web address bar: http://www.facebook.com/help/contact.php?show_form=delete_account

Click “Enter.”

2

Read this screen and then click “Submit.”

The “Permanently Delete Account” screen will automatically pop up.

3

Type your Facebook account password, along with the security check words given on your screen, in the fields provided.

That’s all there is to it. You should receive an e-mail from Facebook confirming that you’ve chosen to delete your account. The e-mail will also tell you that your profile’s been deactivated and will be deleted within the next 14 days.

If you’re not a do-it-yourselfer, you can e-mail Facebook and ask them to delete your account. Send your request to privacy@facebook.com. If Facebook doesn’t respond, e-mail them again, but also send the e-mail to support@facebook.com and info@facebook.com.

During the two weeks you’re waiting for Facebook to delete your account, don’t log on to the site. Doing so will automatically reactivate your profile and you’ll have to go though these account deletion steps all over again.

If you want to make sure you don’t inadvertently rejoin Facebook, make sure you delete any site-related cookies and Web browser history. Also, don’t click on any Facebook links while you’re visiting other sites until the 14-day waiting period is past.

  • Add a Comment
  • Print
  • Share
blog comments powered by Disqus
Advertisement
Advertisement

Inside Dummies.com

Dummies.com Sweepstakes

Win an iPad Mini. Enter to win now!