How to Delete a YouTube Account

If your username is your identity on YouTube, remember that deleting your account means the end of that identity. Closing your YouTube account means that all the unique qualities of your account (your groups, subscriptions, search histories, and so on) will no longer be available to you.

Breaking up with YouTube is pretty painless — there's no crying involved. After a few quick keystrokes, your YouTube identity is erased:

  1. Log in to your YouTube account.

  2. Click the Account link at the top of the page.

  3. In the Account section at the bottom of the page, click Delete Account.

    This takes you to the Delete Account page.

  4. Enter the reason you’re closing the account.

    As with any breakup, the other party deserves to have some idea why you’re leaving. If you’re closing your account because you’re unhappy with its service or had a bad experience on the site, that could be valuable information to the YouTube team for improving the site.

  5. Enter your current password.

  6. Click either of the Delete My Account buttons.

    Your account is closed forever and ever.

  • Add a Comment
  • Print
  • Share
blog comments powered by Disqus
Advertisement

Inside Dummies.com