How to Control Who Tags You on Facebook

The Timeline is basically where you collect all your stuff on Facebook. That means photos, posts, tags, posts Friends have left you, application activity, and so on. Your Timeline allows you to look through your history and represent yourself to your Friends.

Tags on Facebook are a way of labeling people in your content. For example, when uploading a photo, you can tag a specific friend in it. That tag becomes information that others can see as well as a link back to your friend’s Timeline.

In addition, from your Friend’s Timeline, people can get to that photo to see her smiling face. You can tag people and pages in status updates, photos, notes, check-ins at various places, comments, and really any other type of post. And just like you can tag friends, friends can tag you in their photos and posts.

This section of the settings page allows you to control settings related to people interacting with you on your Timeline and tagging you in posts. For controlling the privacy on things you add to your Timeline, you use the Privacy menu in the Share box.

image0.jpg

Who Can Add Things to my Timeline?

This section of Facebook focuses on other people adding things like photos, posts, or tags to your Timeline.

  • Who can post on your Timeline? In addition to being a place where you add posts, your Timeline is a place where your Friends can leave you messages or posts. If you don’t want your Friends leaving these sorts of public messages, you can set this to Only Me.

    By default, only Friends can post on your Timeline. This setting means no one can post to your Timeline except you.

    To change this setting, click Edit on the right side of the setting and use the drop-down menu that appears to select Only Me.

  • Review posts Friends tag you in before they appear on your Timeline. Timeline Review allows you to review the tags people have added of you before they are displayed on your Timeline.

    To change this setting, click Edit on the right side of the setting and use the drop-down menu that appears to toggle between Enabled and Disabled. By default, tags of you are automatically approved, and this setting is set to Disabled.

Who Can See Things on my Timeline?

There’s a difference between adding things to your Timeline, which the preceding settings control, and simply looking at your Timeline, which the settings in this section control. Three settings here concern what people see when they look at your profile.

  • Review what other people see on your Timeline. This isn’t so much a setting as a link to the View As privacy tool. The View As tool allows you to look at your Timeline as though you're someone else, thus double-checking that your privacy settings are actually working.

  • Who can see posts you’ve been tagged in on your Timeline? After you’ve approved tags, you can still decide who can see the content in which you’re tagged on your Timeline. If your Friend tags you in a photo, you can control who sees that photo on your Timeline. The idea behind this is that, although you haven’t posted anything embarrassing to your Timeline, a Friend might do so.

    To change this setting, click the Edit link on the right side of the page and then use the drop-down menu that appears to choose who can see this information.

  • Who can see what others post on your Timeline? Another way to control the “embarrassing friend on your Timeline” problem is to limit who can see the posts your friends leave.

    To change this setting, click the Edit link on the right side of the page and use the drop-down menu that appears to select who can see these posts.

How Can I Manage Tags People Add and Tagging Suggestions?

Although tagging has been mentioned in many of these Timeline settings, these settings refer to very specific use cases of tagging that you maybe never thought about before.

  • Review tags people add to your own posts before the tags appear on Facebook. This setting controls tags your friends add to content you’ve uploaded. For example, if you upload a photo of 20 people to Facebook and don’t tag anyone in it, your friends might choose to add tags.

    To change this setting, click Edit on the right side of the page; then use the drop-down menu that appears to select whether Tag Review is Enabled or Disabled. By default it is Disabled.

  • When you’re tagged in a post, whom do you want to add to the audience? Say that you’re friends with Eric and Dave, but Eric isn’t friends with Dave. If Eric adds a photo of you, his privacy settings could share that photo with his friends. Because Dave and Eric aren't friends, Dave cannot see that photo unless this setting allows your friends to.

    To change this setting, click Edit on the right side of the page and use the drop-down menu that appears to select who is added to the audience of a post you’re tagged in. There are only three options for this setting: Friends, Only Me, and Custom. By default, this setting adds your friends to the audience of a post you’re tagged in.

  • Who sees tag suggestions when photos that look like you are uploaded? Facebook employs some facial recognition software to help people tag photos. If a Friend is uploading 50 photos and you appear in 30 of them, Facebook might recognize your face and suggest to your friend that you be tagged in those 30 photos. You can choose not to appear in the suggestions by disabling this setting.

    To change this setting, click Edit on the right side of the page and use the drop-down menu that appears to select whether Friends or No One will see tag suggestions.

  • Add a Comment
  • Print
  • Share
blog comments powered by Disqus
Advertisement

Inside Dummies.com