Online Test Banks
Score higher
See Online Test Banks
eLearning
Learning anything is easy
Browse Online Courses
Mobile Apps
Learning on the go
Explore Mobile Apps
Dummies Store
Shop for books and more
Start Shopping

How to Check with Food Manufacturers about Gluten Ingredients

Even if a food label doesn’t show any obvious sources of gluten, you may want to check with the manufacturer to make sure your food doesn’t have any hidden sources.

Most products have a toll-free phone number listed right on the package. (Take a cell phone shopping so that you can call then and there.) When you call the number, you often get connected with someone who actually knows what you’re talking about, and the company usually sends you a whole bunch of coupons for its products. In fact, the manufacturer will sometimes send you a long list of its gluten-free items.

For the most part, all you have to say when you call is, “I’d like to find out whether your product is gluten-free,” and the friendly customer service reps know exactly what you’re talking about. Occasionally, though, being specific is helpful and even necessary. Say, “I’m calling to see whether this product is gluten-free, which means it doesn’t contain wheat, rye, barley, or oats.” You may educate one more person about gluten.

  • Add a Comment
  • Print
  • Share
blog comments powered by Disqus
Advertisement

Inside Dummies.com

Dummies.com Sweepstakes

Win $500. Easy.