How to Change and Remove Users with File Share in OS X Mavericks

OS X Mavericks allows you to edit a user’s profile. Circumstances might dictate that you need to change a user’s identity, password, or accessibility, or perhaps delete a user.

How to change a user with file share in OS X Mavericks

Follow these steps to change a user’s name, password, or account type:

  1. Choose app→System Preferences (or click the System Preferences icon in the Dock or Launchpad).

    The System Preferences window appears.

  2. In the System Preferences window, click the Users & Groups icon.

    The Users & Groups System Preferences pane appears.

    If the lock icon at the bottom of the window is locked, you have to click it and provide an administrator password before you can proceed.

  3. Select the user’s name in the accounts list.

    The information for that person appears.

  4. Make your changes by selecting the existing username and replacing the old with new text or a different setting.

    • If you want to change the password, click the Reset Password button and make your changes in the sheet that appears.

    • To change the picture or other capabilities, click the Picture, Login Options, Allow User to Administer This Computer (to enable or disable administrator privileges), or Enable Parental Control check box (more on this in a moment) and make the appropriate changes.

      To change a user, you must be logged in using an account that has administrator powers.

  5. Quit the System Preferences application or choose a different System Preferences pane.

    Your changes are saved when you leave the Users & Groups pane.

How to remove a user in OS X Mavericks

To delete a user — in effect, to deny that user access to your Mac — select the user you want to delete in the list of accounts and click the – button. A sheet appears, offering three choices:

  • Save the Home Folder in a Disk Image saves a disk image of the user’s Home folder in a folder named Deleted Users (which it creates inside the Users folder).

  • Don’t Change the Home Folder removes the user from the Users & Groups System Preferences pane and login screen but leaves that user’s Home folder in the Users folder. (Deleted) is appended to the folder’s name in the previous example Steve Wozniak’s Home folder would be renamed Steve (Deleted).

  • Delete the Home Folder does what it says. You have the option of a secure erase (the contents get overwritten multiple times) if you select this option.

To remove a user from your Mac, you must be logged in using an account that has administrator permissions. And you can’t remove the first user ever created on this Mac.

blog comments powered by Disqus
Advertisement

Inside Dummies.com