How British Parliament Actually Works
How the Election Process Works in the United Kingdom
Helpful Legal Organizations and Government Agencies

How the Executive Office of the President in Washington, D.C., Works

In Washington, D.C., the Executive Office of the President (EOP) consists of the core White House staff plus several small agencies that are either very political, very powerful, or both. The EOP is headed by the White House Chief of Staff and assists the President in the conception, implementation, and communication of his policies.

The EOP includes:

  • The Council of Economic Advisers

  • The Council on Environmental Quality

  • The Executive Residence

  • The National Economic Council

  • The National Security Council/National Security Staff

  • The Office of Administration

  • The Office of Management and Budget

  • The Office of National Drug Control Policy

  • The Office of Science and Technology Policy

  • The Office of the United States Trade Representative

  • The Office of the Vice President

  • The White House Office

The heads of three of these entities — the Council of Economic Advisers, the Office of Management and Budget, and the Office of the United States Trade Representative — are Cabinet rank, as is the White House Chief of Staff. Despite its small size and modest budget, the EOP is the most powerful organization in the federal bureaucracy. EOP staffers interpret and communicate the President’s wishes to the rest of the government.

  • Add a Comment
  • Print
  • Share
blog comments powered by Disqus
How to Identify Your Commercial Identifiers
Finding Contract Modifications
Influence Policy in Washington, D.C.: Join the Washington Establishment
Limitations to Damages from Breach of Contract
Categorizing Congressional Lobbyists