Advertisement
Online Test Banks
Score higher
See Online Test Banks
eLearning
Learning anything is easy
Browse Online Courses
Mobile Apps
Learning on the go
Explore Mobile Apps
Dummies Store
Shop for books and more
Start Shopping

Gluten-Free Grain Alternatives

Even if you weren’t cooking gluten-free, you’d want to give these gluten-free ingredients a go. Not only are these gluten-free grains acceptable substitutes for the traditional grains like wheat, rye, and barley, but these gluten-free puppies also offer unique characteristics:

  • Amaranth: Amaranth is an excellent source of protein and has a pleasant peppery and nutty flavor.

  • Arrowroot: With a look and texture similar to cornstarch, arrowroot makes a great substitute for cornstarch.

  • Buckwheat: Buckwheat (shown in this figure) is actually a fruit (and is also known as groats and kasha).

  • Garfava: Garfava is the name of a commercial blend of chickpea (garbanzo beans) and fava bean flours made by a company called Authentic Foods.

  • Job’s Tears: A tall, tropical plant that produces a grain that’s gluten-free, often dried and cooked as a grain like rice or barley.

  • Mesquite: A plant that produces bean pods which can be dried and ground into flour. It adds a sweet, nutty taste that bears a hint of molasses.

  • Millet: Actually a grass — with a small seed that grows in a variety of shapes, sizes, and colors.

  • Montina (Indian ricegrass): Montina is actually a trademarked name by a company called Amazing Grains. Montina is a type of flour made from Indian ricegrass.

  • Quinoa (hie): A fruit, not a grain. Quinoa flours and pastas are available.

  • Ragi: Especially valuable nutrient-wise because it has the amino acid methionine.

  • Rice: A common staple in the gluten-free diet (see this figure).

  • Sorghum: Also known as milo, this gluten-free insoluble fiber’s bland flavor and light color don’t change the taste or look of foods when it’s used instead of wheat flour.

  • Soy: Actually a legume, not a grain. It’s commonly used in the gluten-free diet.

  • Tapioca: This flour is used in a lot of gluten-free recipes. Because it’s flavorless, tapioca flour or starch makes a great thickener.

  • Teff: Actually a grass with a seed that looks (and cooks) a lot like quinoa and millet, but it’s smaller.

  • Add a Comment
  • Print
  • Share
blog comments powered by Disqus
Advertisement
Advertisement

Inside Dummies.com

Dummies.com Sweepstakes

Win an iPad Mini. Enter to win now!