Gluten in Foods You Wouldn't Suspect

2 of 11 in Series: The Essentials of Eating Gluten-Free

Gluten lurks in foods that you may guess are gluten free. You know to avoid pastries, but you may not think about looking for gluten in candy. However, you have to look long and hard to find gluten-free licorice and forget about enjoying those berry-flavored twisty treats, for just two examples.

Packaged sauce mixes almost all contain gluten as does non-wheat cereal, ready-to-cook flavored rice dishes, soy sauce, many salad dressings, malted chocolate milk powder, and even natural flavorings.

When you’re gluten-free, you get used to reading labels, calling manufacturers, and digging a little deeper to know for sure what you can and can’t eat.

  • Add a Comment
  • Print
  • Share
blog comments powered by Disqus

SERIES
The Essentials of Eating Gluten-Free

Advertisement

Inside Dummies.com

Dummies.com Sweepstakes

Win $500. Easy.