Foods to Question about Gluten Content

5 of 11 in Series: The Essentials of Eating Gluten-Free

To be safe, you need to question everything for gluten. (You may not think to question the ingredients in tea, but at least one brand contains barley malt.) Some ingredients aren’t so clear, because sometimes these ingredients are gluten-free and sometimes they’re not.

Ingredients you need to question include

  • Brown rice syrup

  • Fillers

  • Flavors and natural flavorings

  • Seasonings and spice blends

  • Stabilizers

  • Starch (in pharmaceuticals)

These ingredients don’t always have gluten. In fact, they rarely do. But according to the U.S. Food and Drug Administration Code of Federal Regulations, they can contain gluten, so to be safe, you need to check.

  • Add a Comment
  • Print
  • Share
blog comments powered by Disqus

SERIES
The Essentials of Eating Gluten-Free

Advertisement

Inside Dummies.com

Dummies.com Sweepstakes

Win $500. Easy.