Foods to Question about Gluten Content
5 of 11 in Series: The Essentials of Eating Gluten-Free
To be safe, you need to question everything for gluten. (You may not think to question the ingredients in tea, but at least one brand contains barley malt.) Some ingredients aren’t so clear, because sometimes these ingredients are gluten-free and sometimes they’re not.
Ingredients you need to question include
Brown rice syrup
Flavors and natural flavorings
Seasonings and spice blends
Starch (in pharmaceuticals)
These ingredients don’t always have gluten. In fact, they rarely do. But according to the U.S. Food and Drug Administration Code of Federal Regulations, they can contain gluten, so to be safe, you need to check.