Online Test Banks
Score higher
See Online Test Banks
eLearning
Learning anything is easy
Browse Online Courses
Mobile Apps
Learning on the go
Explore Mobile Apps
Dummies Store
Shop for books and more
Start Shopping

Drupal Publishing Options

By default your Drupal content is immediately published when you click Save. But you can change this so you can write content but publish it at a later time. The Publishing options section lets you control what happens after you create content in Drupal. These options are available when you create or edit your article.

image0.jpg

The options you select here control what happens when you click the Save button.

    Publishing

By default, for both basic pages and articles, the Published check box is selected — which means your content will be made live on the web when you click Save.

If you deselect the Published check box and click Save, your content is saved but not actually published. No one but you, logged in as administrator, will be able to see it. You have three options:

  • To access unpublished content, log in as administrator, and click Content. You see all of your content with the publishing status listed next to it. If it’s unpublished, it shows a Status of Not Published.

    image1.jpg
  • To publish your content without any changes, select the check box next to its title, choose Publish Selected Content from the Update Options drop-down list, and then click Update.

  • To make changes to the content before publishing, click the Edit link, make your changes; under Publishing Options, select the Published check box, and finally, click Save.

    Promoting to front page

Articles appear on the home page by default; basic pages do not. But if you select the Promoted to Front Page check box, you can change this behavior regardless of node type.

    Making content sticky in lists

When you create a new article and post it to the home page, it ends up as the one on top. Articles are ordered from newest to oldest. This check box accomplishes the same thing as modifying the “stickiness” in the Content page.

    Previewing your content

The Preview button lets you take a look at your post before you actually publish it.

image2.jpg

You may have noticed the View tab (top right) that sometimes appears as you’re editing your posts. It gives you a look at your published posts. It only shows up after you’ve published a post, and it lets you see what the post will actually look like on your site, as opposed to Preview, which only gives you a view of the content in the Administrative interface and will not save your work.

By default, when your post is published, only 600 characters appear. Visitors have to click Read more to see the rest of your post. You can modify this parameter site-wide, but suppose you want to only change this for a single article, and not for every article you write. You can control this on a post-by-post basis.

To create a custom summary, follow these steps:

  1. Log in as an administrator.

  2. Open an article you have posted to the home page in Edit mode.

  3. Click the Edit Summary link.

    This opens a new Summary text box.

  4. Copy (press Ctrl+C or cmd+C) the text of your post that you want to appear as the summary.

    Generally, you want to copy the first few sentences of your post.

  5. Paste the text into the Summary text box by pressing Ctrl+P or cmd+P.

  6. Click the Preview button.

    Your page changes to show your Summary and Body text.

    image3.jpg
  7. Click Save to save your content.

    Your home page now reflects the new blurb length.

If you edit an existing posting and use the Edit Summary text box, make sure you click Save to republish your content. You may have to reload the home page to see the changes.

Depending on your content, you may want to write a specific blurb to show up on the home page. You can create a summary of your content in the top box and keep all your content together in the bottom box.

blog comments powered by Disqus
Advertisement

Inside Dummies.com

Dummies.com Sweepstakes

Win $500. Easy.