How to Shoot Time Exposures on Your Canon EOS 6D
9 Ways to Customize Your Canon Rebel t5i
How to Use White Balance Compensation on Your Canon EOS 6D

Canon Rebel T3 Series Cameras: How to Turn Off the Shooting Settings Screen

When you turn on your Canon Rebel T3 or T3i, the monitor automatically displays the Shooting Settings screen. At least, it does if you stick with the default setting selected for Custom Function 10 (T3) or 11 (T3i), which bears the lengthy name LCD Display When Power On.

You can prevent the monitor from displaying the screen every time you power up the camera, if you choose. The monitor is one of the biggest drains on the camera battery, so limiting it to displaying information only when you need it can extend the time between battery charges.

As with other Custom Functions, this option works only when the camera is set to one of the advanced exposure modes. In other modes, the screen still appears automatically. Still, any battery savings can be helpful when you’re running low on juice.

To take advantage of this feature, take these steps:

  1. Set the camera to P, Tv, Av, M, or A-DEP mode.

  2. Display Setup Menu 3, highlight Custom Functions, and press Set.

  3. Use the cross keys to select Custom Function 10 (T3) or 11 (T3i) and then press Set.

    image0.jpg
  4. Press the up or down cross key to highlight Previous Display Status.

  5. Press Set.

  6. Press the shutter button halfway and release it to temporarily display the Shooting Settings screen.

  7. Press the Disp button to turn off the monitor.

  8. Turn off the camera.

When you turn on the camera again, the monitor doesn’t automatically display the Shooting Settings screen — as long as the Mode dial is set to an advanced shooting mode, that is. To view the screen, press the Disp button; press the button again to return to monitor-off status.

However, note that if you turn the monitor on before shutting off the camera, the Shooting Settings screen does appear the next time you turn on the camera. Note the Custom Function setting name: Previous Display Status. It means what the name implies: The camera preserves the current monitor status even if you turn the camera off and then back on again.

blog comments powered by Disqus
How to Use Shutter Priority Mode on Your Canon EOS 6D
How to Create Video Snapshots on the Rebel t5i
How to Control the External Speedlite on Your Canon EOS 6D
How to Manually Focus Your Canon EOS 6D
How to Modify Camera Exposure on Your Canon EOS 6D
Advertisement

Inside Dummies.com