Additional Settings for Managing Your WordPress Network
In addition to choosing options on the Network Settings Page, when you create a WordPress Network you must also manage sites, users, themes, plugins, and updates. These settings are accessed by clicking in the list on the left side of your WordPress Network Admin Dashboard.
The Sites page lets you manage your individual sites. Although each site in the network has its own Dashboard for basic tasks, such as posting, changing themes, and so on, the Sites page is where you create and delete sites and make edits to properties of the sites within your network. The Sites page also lists all the sites within your network and basic statistics about the path, including when updates occurred.
The management options for network sites are as follows:
Edit: A link to the Edit Site page where you can change aspects of each site.
Dashboard: A link to the Dashboard of the site.
Deactivate: Click to mark the site for deletion in your network; a message displays in a pop-up window that asks you to confirm site deactivation. Click the Yes button to confirm. This action can be reversed by revisiting the Sites page and clicking the Activate link that appears underneath the site pathname.
Archive: Click to archive the site in your network. This action can be reversed by revisiting the Sites page and clicking the Unarchive link beneath the site’s pathname.
Delete: Click to delete the site from your network of sites permanently. You cannot reverse this decision.
Visit: Click this link to visit the live site in your web browser.
The Users page provides a full listing of members, or users, within your network and provides the following information about each user:
Username: The login name the member uses when she logs in to her account in your community.
Name: The user’s real name, taken from her profile.
E-mail: The e-mail address the user entered when she registered on your site.
Registered: The date when the user registered.
Sites: Lists any sites the user is a member of.
To delete a user, simply hover over the username in the list that appears on the Users page. Click the Delete link and a new screen appears with a page telling you to transfer this user’s posts and links to another user account (most likely, yours). Then click the Confirm Deletion button. This action is irreversible.
You can also edit a user’s profile information by clicking the Edit link that appears when you hover your mouse on his name on the Users page.
When a network is enabled, only users with network admin access have permission to install themes, which are shared across the network. To access the Network Themes page, click the Themes link under the Themes menu on the Network Admin Dashboard.
Browse to the Plugins page in your WordPress Network Admin Dashboard by clicking the Plugins link under the Plugins menu. Do you see the Network Activate link? That is the big difference between plugins listed in the regular Dashboard and the Network Admin Dashboard. As the network admin, you can enable certain plugins to be activated globally, across your entire network. This means that all sites in your network will have the network-activated plugin features available.
Clicking the Updates link on the Network Admin Dashboard menu gives you access to the WordPress Updates page, which takes you through the same process of upgrading your WordPress installation software. However, with a network site, WordPress takes the extra step of upgrading all sites within your network so they all use the same, upgraded feature sets.