Learn more with dummies

Enter your email to join our mailing list for FREE content right to your inbox. Easy!

By Julian Knight, Michael Pattison

Part of British Politics For Dummies Cheat Sheet

Red, blue, blue, blue . . . since 1945, the Conservatives have been the dominant political force in Britain. The biggest political animal of them all was undoubtedly Thatcher, who managed to win three consecutive elections. Here’s a list of British governments since 1945:

Years in Office Party of Government Prime Minister
1945–1951 Labour Clement Attlee
1951–1955 Conservative Winston Churchill
1955–1959 Conservative Anthony Eden (1955–1957)
Harold Macmillan (1957–)
1959–1964 Conservative Harold Macmillan (–1963)
Sir Alec Douglas-Home (1963–1964)
1964–1966 Labour Harold Wilson
1966–1970 Labour Harold Wilson
1970–1974 Conservative Edward Heath
1974–1979 Labour Harold Wilson (1974–1976)
James Callaghan (1976–1979)
1979–1983 Conservative Margaret Thatcher
1983–1987 Conservative Margaret Thatcher
1987–1992 Conservative Margaret Thatcher (–1990)
John Major (1990–)
1992–1997 Conservative John Major
1997–2001 Labour Tony Blair
2001–2005 Labour Tony Blair
2005–2010 Labour Tony Blair (–2007)
Gordon Brown (2007–10)
2010- Conservative-Lib Dem Coalition David Cameron (2010-)