How to Offload iPhone Apps to Keep Data - dummies

How to Offload iPhone Apps to Keep Data

By Dwight Spivey

When you delete an app from your iPhone, usually you’re simultaneously deleting its data and documents. In iOS 11, you can also delete an app without removing its data and documents. This feature is called Offloading. If you find later that you’d like to revisit the app, simply download it again from the App Store and its data and settings will be retained.

To offload apps, follow these steps:

  1. Open Settings and go to General →   iPhone Storage.

    You may need to wait a few seconds for content to load.

  2. You can allow your iPhone to automatically offload unused apps as storage gets low, or you can offload individual apps manually:
    • To automatically offload unused apps, scroll down the screen to the Offload Unused Apps option and tap the Enable button.

      offload iPhone apps

      To disable the feature, go to Settings →   iTunes & App Store, scroll to the bottom of the page, then toggle the Offload Unused Apps switch to Off (white).

    • To offload an individual app, scroll down to find the app and tap it, then tap the Offload App option; tap Offload App again to confirm. The offloaded app’s icon is grayed out on your iPhone’s Home screen, indicating that the app is not loaded but its data still is.

      offloading iPhone apps

  3. You can restore an app by either tapping its grayed-out icon (when the app is ready to use the icon will no longer be grayed out) or by reinstalling it from the App Store.

 

Often, most of your iPhone’s memory is taken by the data used in apps, not by the apps themselves. Offloading apps is a great idea if the app itself is of a significant size, but otherwise may not be very handy unless you’re just super-strapped for space.